Shireshead continue their winning streak

Sport news
Sport news
Have your say

Shireshead maintained their winning streak in a low-scoring affair against third place Milnthorpe.

They continued their fine run in Division One of the Readers Resemblance Cricket League with a seven wicket victory.

After winning the toss, stand-in captain Peter Wilson elected to field first on what looked like a decent surface.

This proved to be an excellent decision, as the ball barely managed to climb above knee-height all innings.

Phil Oliver exploited the conditions, bowling full and straight in a superb seven over spell, the opening 17 balls of which cost only two runs and picked up as many wickets.

A third ball duck for S Bowman was the pick of the bunch as Oliver scuttled four of the Milnthorpe top five.

Finishing with figures of four for 15 off seven, the elder statesman had put Shireshead in a dominant position.

As has been the story for most of the season, two bowlers working together as a partnership was evident, and Oliver was admirably supported by Danny Wilkinson who trundled in without much luck for the most part.

His persistence paid off and he claimed the prized wicket of Milnthorpe’s top scorer M Wills for 13 and he finished with economical figures of three for 17 off 12.

Despite a wag from the Milnthorpe tail Wilson with two wickets for 20 runs and Shah one for 10 claimed the remaining required wickets, leaving the away team needing only 69 to win off 61 overs.

With the ball still keeping extremely low, the opening pair of Simon Gould and Liam Parkinson sensibly saw off the first eight overs before both falling in quick succession leaving Shireshead at 23 for two off 10.

R Baldwin bowled an excellent tight spell, going for just one run in his opening five overs and finished with one for nine off seven overs.

S Singleton also bowled an accurate three over spell finishing with one for seven before Nick Rafferty and Danny Wilkinson steadied the ship.

After Wilkinson fell to T Parkinson for 11, a flurry of boundaries from Rafferty - 26 not out - left it to Wilson, who finished not out on six, to wrap up the win in the 19th over.

Milnthorpe 1st XI 68 all out

Shireshead 1st XI 70/3

Shireshead won by 7 wickets