Clifford claims the spud crown

Clifford Thompson, right, who took the crown from Peter Taylor, centre, as  Ian Jenkinson looks on.
Clifford Thompson, right, who took the crown from Peter Taylor, centre, as Ian Jenkinson looks on.
Share this article

The king of yesteryear was knocked off his throne as a new “spud king” was crowned in the Big Chip Off.

The second event of its kind was held at Guy’s Thatched Hamlet, Billsborrow, where four local potato farmers competed for the title with four different varieties of spud.

And local chip fanatics cast their votes after sampling the chips made from Maris Piper, Cabaret, Kestrel and Miranda unearthed from farms at Preesall, Pilling, Eagland Hill and St Michael’s.

After the 567 votes were cast, it was Clifford Thompson, of Turnover Hall Farm, St Michael’s on Wyre, who was eventually crowned King of the Spuds and awarded the Big Chip Off trophy.

Clifford said: “All the chip potatoes were excellent and it shows what quality spuds the area produces.

“A big thank you to my fellow competitors and Owd Nell’s Canalside Tavern, part of Guy’s Thatched Hamlet, for giving us the opportunity to show off our wares.”

Last year’s king, Peter Taylor, who was crowned when the competition was held at the Black Bull, Preesall, said: “Well done to Clifford on his close victory tonight. The attention to detail and the presentation of the chipped potatoes was spot on and we can look forward to celebrating the humble potato again next year.”

The North West Air Ambulance also benefited from the Big Chip Off, with £669 raised on the evening and topped up by Owd Nell’s Tavern to make a £1,000 donation to the 
worthy cause.

Sean Wilkinson, of Owd Nell’s Tavern, said: “A big, big thank you must go out to all our competitors, customers, friends and family for visiting us here for the second Big Chip Off.

“A lot of work goes on behind the scenes and a really big thank you must go to my team here at Owd Nell’s.

“We look forward to meeting up at the similar time next year and finding out who will be crowned 2015 Spud King or Queen – long live the king!”