Prize time for high school ‘graduates’

Longridge High presentation evening - the prizewinners gather for a photograph
Longridge High presentation evening - the prizewinners gather for a photograph

LONGRIDGE High School held its Year 11 presentation evening when it welcomed back its “graduates of 2011” with their families.

Guests for the evening included the Mayor and Mayoress of Ribble Valley, Coun Simon Hore and Mrs Hore, and the Mayor and Mayoress of Longridge, Coun Paul Byrne and Mrs Byrne.

Special guest was Mr Chris Brown JP, who has worked with the school for many years through the Young Enterprise scheme.

Mr Brown presented the ex-pupils with their GCSE certificates and special prizes. He then gave a very heartfelt and inspirational address reflecting on his own school days and the positive experiences he has had over the years in employing young people in industry.

Headteacher Mrs Jane Green congratulated the Year 11 graduates on their excellent performance in the GCSE exams this summer.

They had smashed all previous records, with 70% of students achieving the gold standard of five or more GCSEs at A*-C, including English and maths.

In addition, 79% of pupils had achieved five or more GCSEs across all subjects at A*-C, with some excellent individual performances.

As well as students receiving subject prizes for excellence, and their GCSE certificates, special prizes and awards were given to a number of students.

The Crowther and Governors’ Prizes for performance in external examinations, presented to students who achieved exceptional GCSE results, were awarded to Robert Ross, Aiden Bhakta, Louisa Robey, Lucy Dickinson, Rozeena Patel and Georgia Parker.

Two students, Thomas Eccles and Laura McCann, achieved awards for 100% attendance at school for the full five years. The award for the best progress made over five years went to Monik Panchal.

Tom Howarth was awarded the prize for service to the school and community, with Lucy Handley receiving the Syd Brown Trophy for Endeavour. Abby Austin and Kim Killeen received the Alan Whittaker Prize for citizenship, with Hayley Walker receiving the Pam Cliff Prize for school politics.

Michelle Forrest was awarded the Dorinda Ward Prize for courage. Hayley Walker and Alastair Brown, as head prefects, were awarded the Head Teacher’s Prizes, whilst Andrew Simpson was the recipient of the Openshaw PE Cup for boys, with Abbie Unsworth picking up the Thornton PE Cup for girls.

Mrs Green reflected on the overwhelming positive attitude shown by the year group throughout their time at school, and the conscientious approach they had taken towards their studies.

She told the audience that the year group had, over the five years, enjoyed a full range of extra-curricular activities, including residentials to Tower Wood, London, New York, Italy, France and also a German exchange.

They had certainly made the most of all the opportunities offered them, and had celebrated the end of their GCSEs in style with a spectacular prom.

Mrs Green thanked the staff for all their continued hard work, and parents, families and governors for all their continued support. She congratulated all the prizewinners and wished the “Year 11 graduates” all the best for the future.