Tories triumph in Wyre

editorial image
Share this article

TRIUMPHANT Tories celebrated success after retaining control of Wyre Council, and winning all the seats in the rural part of the borough, including Garstang.

The count, which took place through the night at the Marine Hall in Fleetwood saw the ruling party retain 40 seats.

But it wasn’t all plain sailing for the blues as Labour clawed back seats in parts of the urban district of the borough - Fleetwood and Cleveleys.

Labour took five seats from the Conservatives, two in Rossall, one in Park Ward, one in Cleveleys Park and one in Warren.

In Pilling ward (comprising Pilling and Winmarleigh), thought to be the only possible rural seat which might have seen a possible change from Conservative to Green, sitting Tory councillor Don Lawrenson easily retained his seat against a strong challenge from the Green’s Mrs Sue White, a popular local businesswoman. Labour’s Darrell Jackson, a Stalmine farmer and anti-Halite campaigner, came third.

The two UKIP candidates in rural Wyre - at Preesall/Knott End and Calder (Barnacre) failed to win the seats they were contesting.

In Garstang ward, town-mayor elect Coun Lady Dulcie Atkins topped the borough ward poll.

The turn out was similar to the last election four years ago - with just under half the eligible voters in each rural Wyre ward turning out to vote.

The Conservatives now hold 40 seats on the borough council retaining its majority. Labour must lead an opposition with 14 members – six more than in 2007.

Results in the rural wards:


(one seat)

Brooks William (Con) 444

Young Stuart (Lab) 186

Turn out 48.3%


(one seat)

Noble Simon (UKIP) 175

Williams David (Con) 535

Turn out 45.9%


(three seats)

Atkins Dulcie (Con) 1272

Balmain Tom (Con) 1073

Collinson Alice (Con) 1223

Levey Marilyn (Lab) 632

Turn out 48.6%


(two seats)

Catterall Susan (Con) 1089

Davies Al (Lab) 268

Pimbley Susan (Con) 824

Turn out 48.6%


(two seats)

Bowen Lynne (Con) 966

Meredith Andy (Lab) 474

Robinson Julie (Con) 1055

Turn out 46.7%


(one seat)

Jackson Darrell (Lab) 129

Lawrenson Donald (Con) 523

White Sue (Green) 173

Turn out 47%


(three seats)

Fogg Nic (Lab) 656

Lamb Christopher (UKIP) 530

McCann Gordon (Con) 1299

Moon Paul (Con)1220

Taylor Vivien (Con) 1226

Turn out 47.8%



(one seat)

Murphy Peter (Con) Uncontested


(one seat)

Swift Dave (Con) uncontested

* For a full report and analysis of the results of the borough poll, and the polls in Great Eccleston and Nether Wyresdale, see next Wednesday’s Garstang Courier, out May 11 2011.