Shireshead secure second spot

Westmorland Cricket League Division One

Wednesday, 14th September 2016, 9:00 am
Updated Thursday, 15th September 2016, 4:03 pm
Shireshead skipper Paul Yates

Shireshead & Forton...194/7


Shireshead ended the season as runners-up behind champions Westgate after a 100-run victory at home to Milnthorpe.

After electing to bat first all of Shireshead’s top order batsmen got in without any of them going on to make a big score.

Tom Jacques (42), Phil Bovis (43) and Danny Wilkinson (31) all scored fluently before Nick Rafferty (37) and Simon Gould (24 not out) provided a final push as Shireshead posted 194-7 from their 45 overs.

Darren Wills (2-25) was the pick of the Milnthorpe bowlers.

In reply Milnthorpe set off in a hurry as Pennington struck the third ball of the innings for six.

Peter Wilson (3-14) and Dave Jack (2-12) soon began to pick up wickets, however, aided by some sharp catches in the field.

Rowan Upton (2-25) dismissed Mike Wills before the curtain came down on the 2016 season as Milnthorpe skipper Steve Bowman (28) was the last wicket to fall, caught at mid-wicket off the bowling of his opposite number Paul Yates.