Fifth win on the bounce

Sport news
Sport news

Westmorland Cricket League Division One

Shireshead & Forton 1st 165/9

Burneside 150

Shireshead secured a fifth consecutive league win after a close finish at Burneside.

Shireshead moved to 51 without loss after 15 overs. Nick Rafferty (25) and Paul Yates (57) added 53 in all before Rafferty was undone.

Yates and Danny Wilkinson continued the good work as a further 56 were added for the second wicket, and Shireshead were in a position of some strength at 109 for one from 32 overs with a big score in their sights.

Burneside’s reply began in the face of accurate bowling from James Rafferty and Danny Wilkinson, with both bowlers picking up a wicket. However, the innings soon gathered pace and Shirehampton gained a stylish victory.