Longridge make up for lost time

longridge fc reserves
longridge fc reserves
Share this article

Longridge Town Reserves 5

Milnthorpe Corinthians Reserves 0

IN only their third match of 2012 Longridge Town Reserves took to the field to take on Milnthorpe Corinthians.

The Reserves were looking to get back to winning ways against struggling Milnthorpe. Walker and Richmond opted for a 4-3-3 set-up, that incorporated 1st teamers Craig Newby, Steve Boardman and Dave Woodruff.

The game began, and Walker’s decision looked to of paid off as Longridge looked comfortable in possession, creating many chances, none of which troubled the Milnthorpe goalkeeper.

The midfield trio of Sam Robinson, Andrew Kucper and Neil Holden were providing some creative balls to Grant Heywood, Jamie Bryson and Craig Newby.

After many chances had gone begging, the deadlock was finally broken by Walker’s newest signing Jamie Bryson, as he managed to control the ball from Heywood’s cross and fumble it into the goal.

Numerous chances went begging including a header from Robinson going agonisingly close. The second half began, and Longridge were soon to double their lead when Newby latched onto a pass from Blain, rolled a defender and slammed home a strike at the keeper’s near post. A third was added by Matt Priest. The raging right back, despite his inexperience of being in the box, managed to latch onto the cross and strike it into the roof of the net.

The fourth came from substitute Dean Bradshaw, who played some great build-up play with Robinson and fellow substitute Eccles to finish well with a low drive into the bottom corner.

All belief looked lost from Milnthorpe following this goal, of which Longridge took advantage of. Sam Robinson rose like a salmon and powered home a header from Matt Eccles’ corner to make amends for his earlier chance.

A comfortable win for the Reserves, with Mark Routledge having very little to do all game.

Special mention to Steve Boardman who tormented the Milnthorpe right back all game.

Longridge: Routledge, Priest, Boardman, Robinson, Blain, Woodruff, Holden, Kucper, Bryson, Heywood, Newby. Substitutes, Eccles, Bradshaw, J Clegg.