Shireshead romp to league title with 124-run victory

Shireshead players celebrate their league title.
Shireshead players celebrate their league title.

Westmorland Cricket League – Division 1

Shireshead and Forton 1st XI, 194 for 9, Bolton-le-Sands 1st XI, 70 all out.

Shireshead won by 124 runs

Shireshead completed a memorable unbeaten 2014 league campaign with a comprehensive 124-run victory over Bolton-le-Sands at Clifton Park.

Having decided to bat first, Shireshead began the day badly, as both A Dyson (3 for 49) and S Huckle (3 for 63) found life in the pitch to make the going difficult for the batsmen.

With two batsmen dragging balls on to their stumps, the score had slumped to 51 for 5 when Dave Murphy was dismissed in the 17th over, but this brought together Nick Rafferty (69 not out) and Robert Skipworth (55) who serenely added 89 in the partnership of the day.

Striking 17 boundaries between them, and running excellently between the wickets, Rafferty and Skipworth took the tally to 9 Shireshead first XI batsmen to pass 50 this season. Uzair Shah and Rowan Upton added late boundaries to allow Shireshead to post 194 for 9.

The Bolton-le-Sands reply was an innings of two halves. M Brickles and J Carter patiently added 40 for the first wicket as the luckless pair of Danny Wilkinson and Shah beat the bat with regularity. The introduction of Peter Wilson (7 for 5) and Upton (3 for 20) then incredibly precipitated the fall of all 10 Sands wickets in the space of just 30 runs. Wilson rounded off a spectacular season with the ball with his unerring control of line and length which has seen him take 70 league wickets, whilst leg-spinner Upton’s bag of tricks have brought him 18 wickets since his first XI debut in mid-season. Wilson fittingly bowled Huckle to end the game and spark a long evening of celebration at Clifton Park as the Westmorland League Championship Trophy was presented to Shireshead in front of a healthy number of club members, many of whom have played a part in ending the long wait for another league title.