Shireshead take the spoils

Captain Paul Yates hit 34 runs for Shireshead
Captain Paul Yates hit 34 runs for Shireshead

Westmorland League Division 1

Shireshead & Forton 163 /8

Warton 113/ 9

Rain affected draw – six points each

Warton had no hesitation in asking Shireshead to bat first with the threat of thundery showers hanging over the game, and lost Liam Parkinson early to Graham Crowther (3 for 69).

Paul Yates (34) and Danny Wilkinson (32) added 46 for the second wicket before Simon Gould (34) moved the innings through the gears. Peter Wilson and Phil Oliver (20 from 8 balls) provided the push to post a score of 163 for 8 from 44 overs.

Warton’s reply was reduced to 40 overs, but it began in brisk fashion as Ryan Nelson and S Mayor (38) added 59 for the first wicket in 10 just overs. James Rafferty (3 for 53) then bowled Nelson to begin a slide which quickened when Peter Wilson (6 for 19) removed Mayor in the following over. Wickets fell at regular intervals as both bowlers warmed to their task and made full use of the heavy conditions. The score had slipped to 112 for 8 from 27 overs when the rain intervened again. A final 5 overs were possible when the rain abated and Shireshead required two wickets for victory, however despite Wilson’s removal of Marcus Nicholson the last wicket was not forthcoming as Crowther (14 not out) remained undefeated accompanied by Phil Savage.

Hackney and Leigh Trophy – Semi Final

Silverdale 150

Shireshead & Forton 151/7

Defending champions Shireshead progressed to the final of this year’s Hackney and Leigh Trophy with victory over Silverdale in the semi final.

Westmorland League Division 4

Kirkby Lonsdale 2nd 96

Shireshead 3rd 97/6

Home skipper Simon Moulson won the toss and asked Kirkby to bat first. Alan Moulsdale (5/12) bowled Andy Gabriel with the first ball of the innings.

The Kirkby Lonsdale innings was further restricted by the tight bowling of Adam Coates (2/19) and Malcolm Taylor (2/14). Tom Wilson (22) held the innings together but became Taylor’s second victim when he was trapped leg before.

Shireshead lost early wickets to the swing bowling of John Davis (4/24). Taylor (14) counter-attacked but fell to a fine catch taken by Mike Parkinson off Davis. After further losses, Moulson (21no) and George Atkinson (10no) steered their team home with 18 overs to spare.