Shireshead toast title win with victory

Sport news
Sport news

Shireshead and Forton travelled to Silverdale for their first game after clinching the league title and won by eight runs.

Shireshead posted 46 all out and they bowled Silverdale out for 38 in their Westmorland Cricket League Division One clash.

Silverdale won the toss and had no hesitation in asking Shireshead to bat first on whatturned out to be an old-fashioned wicket.

Skipper Paul Yates and his namesake Steve had moved the score to 10 without loss, giving no indication of the mayhem to follow.

Steve Yates became one of six victims in 28 balls for J Thompson.

Nick Rafferty and Simon Gould both departed first ball as Thompson who recorded bowling figures of sixfor 20) completed a hat-trick by bowling a good length and letting the wicket do the rest with the help of some excellent Silverdale catching in the field.

Thompson rifled through the middle order as a string of batsmen seemed to find the fielders who were only too happy to take the chances which came their way.

Eight of the Shireshead wickets to fall were caught in the outfield and when P Mason, 3 for 10, trapped Rowan Upton LBW the innings was closed for just 46 with a bemused Yates – 14 not out – having watched the carnage from the non-strikers end.

Shireshead knew the only chance of maintaining their unbeaten record this season was to take early wickets, and an injury to Dave Jack just one ball into his spell was not what they wanted.However Uzair Shah, 4 for 21, removed Graham Dodds quickly, before also running out Jack Hargreaves to reduce Silverdale to 10 for 2.

Danny Wilkinson, 2 for 7, has had a very consistent season and once again he bowled an accurate spell and took two more quick wickets to leave Silverdale reeling at 20 for 5.

The introduction of young leg-spinner Upton brought two more wickets and when Shah removed Lindsay Thompson the Silverdale reply was in tatters at 34 for 9.

Phil Oliver bowled H Belcher to secure victory for Shireshead by 8 runs.